Encounter with a Fisher

DSCN9348-2

The fisher (Pekania pennanti) is the holy grail of mammals for many naturalists in eastern Ontario. Just as the Gyrfalcon is the most sought after species for local birders, or the Smooth Green Snake is the most sought after snake species for local herpers, the fisher is one of those near-mythical species that few naturalists claim to have actually seen, and seems to exist more in rumour than in fact. Although there seems to be a good number of them present in our region – particularly in Stony Swamp with its many trails giving access to the deeper parts of the forest – they are very elusive, preferring to hide themselves deep in the bush where trails don’t exist and few humans are curious enough to venture. Every now and then you hear of one showing up on a trail cam, or of someone finding a road-killed specimen, or – very rarely – of someone catching a brief glimpse of one before it disappears. A live encounter where the observer actually gets a prolonged look at one – or even photos! – might be even more rare than the impossible-to-find Gyrfalcon.

Today I got up early and headed over to Jack Pine Trail to look for evidence of breeding birds. I arrived just before 6:00 am, and managed to be the first person at the trail that day. This is a difficult feat at this particular trail, as it is more popular than Sarsaparilla and the Beaver Trails, and there is usually at least one other car there when I get there even as early as 6:30. I enjoyed the silence for the first half hour, adding fledgling Blue Jays and singing Pine Warblers, Ovenbirds, White-throated Sparrows, House Wrens, and Scarlet Tanagers to my list. When I got to the middle boardwalk, I heard some agitated Common Yellowthroats and Swamp Sparrows calling from the marsh. I thought at first that it was me who had disturbed them and I started pishing in the hopes of seeing them either carrying food or nesting materials in their beaks. A couple of them popped out into the open, but did not approach me as agitated birds usually do in an attempt to drive the invader away. And then I saw the marsh vegetation begin to rustle as something small quickly darted through it, approaching the boardwalk. I saw a flash of something dark vanish beneath the boardwalk, and my first thought was that it was a rail of some sort as I couldn’t tell whether it was furred or feathered. Then, a few moments later, I saw a dark head poke out from beneath the railing further head and realized I was looking at a member of the weasel family.

DSCN9351-2

I grabbed a few photos, and although I was certain it wasn’t a mink or an otter or an American (Pine) Marten, three of the largest mustelids in Ontario, I had trouble making myself believe that it was a fisher, and that it was just standing there letting me photograph it. Yet a fisher it certainly was, and I felt a disbelieving sort of joy when it clambered onto the boardwalk and started walking back and forth, sniffing the boards.

DSCN9349-2

Like other mustelids, the fisher has a body that is long and slender with thick, luxuriant fur. Its coat is dark brown or black, with white hairs around the face, shoulders and back that give it a grizzled appearance. The long, bushy tail is also heavily furred, and it has a pointed face, round teddy bear ears, and short, strong legs tipped with sharp, heavy claws used primarily for climbing and digging. The fisher’s highly mobile ankle joints allow it to rotate its hind paws, enabling it to climb down trees head-first.

Fishers live in forests with a large diversity of trees and plenty of understory vegetation, snags and hollow logs. Not only does such forest provide cover and denning sites for these mammals, it also provides habitat for the animals it feeds on, chiefly porcupine, hares, rabbits, rodents, grouse, turkeys, and other small creatures it is able to catch. While this species tends to disappear once development encroaches on its territory, the fishers in Stony Swamp continue to thrive despite the proximity of subdivisions in Kanata and Bells Corners, and despite the heavily used trails.

DSCN9355-2

DSCN9354-2

Fishers are often described as vicious, and are usually the species blamed whenever a cat goes missing – even in urban and suburban habitats. However, they don’t attack people walking in the woods, and don’t specifically seek out unattended cats or small dogs for dinner. They don’t kill unnecessarily or for fun. As one of the top predators of the forest, as well as one of the fastest (they can outrun a squirrel going up or down trees), they hunt and eat as the opportunity arises, feeding on the plentiful squirrels, rabbits, and rodents that also inhabit the woods. They are also the main predator of porcupines, attacking its unprotected face until it can flip it over and attack the vulnerable belly. There is no need for them to leave the shelter of the woods to look for cats in a suburban neighbourhood when the forest is full of small mammals.

The most interesting thing about this encounter is that even though it knew I was there – and I was pretty close to it! – it didn’t seem too concerned with my presence. I stood still, clicking away with my camera, while it walked back and forth before sitting down in the middle of the boardwalk. It watched me the whole time, and seemed more curious than afraid. Given the small size, narrow body, and its frank curiosity, it may be a youngster.

DSCN9356-2

Then, for one scary moment, it started walking toward me! I’ve had a porcupine amble toward me on a once boardwalk before, but felt no particular fear; I just scooted to one side so that it could see there was enough room for it to go by, and after pausing to look up at me the porcupine just kept walking along. A porcupine isn’t a predator, though, with a mostly undeserved reputation for viciousness. Porcupines don’t throw their quills (despite stories to the contrary), and don’t attack unless they are backed into a corner with no way to escape, so I was not concerned about my safety. I had no idea what to expect of a fisher, however, but I didn’t think it considered me prey, and so I took a step toward it. It was then that it turned and ran back into the marsh, disappearing without a trace. The whole encounter lasted just under two minutes according to the time-stamps on my photos.

DSCN9358-2

This is the second fisher I’ve seen this year. My first encounter, two months ago on April 27th, occurred at Old Quarry Trail when I heard the crows screaming at something in the trees, and I tracked down the source of the commotion expecting to see an owl. I was deeply surprised to see the fisher working its way through the tree branches, and got one lousy photo before it reached the ground and shot off into the woods. I figured I had used up all my luck that day and didn’t think I’d see another one for a good five or ten years – let alone out in the open where I could photograph it! – so today’s encounter left me feeling thrilled beyond imagination. Even if I never see another fisher again, I will be forever awed and amazed by the encounter I had today. Sometimes it really pays to get up early and be the first person on the trail!

15 thoughts on “Encounter with a Fisher

  1. I have been reading and archiving your nature blog for years, mostly because it is , in my opinion, the most interesting and well written piece about nature in the Ottawa area.  This one is an absolute gem. I have seen fisher tracks near Dunrobin in the winter, but have never seen daytime pictures so close and clear. Keep up the great work. Dave

    Sent from Yahoo Mail on Android

    • Thanks for the kind words, Dave! It means a lot to me that people are finding this blog informative and interesting.

      I don’t get out to Dunrobin much, but that seems like a great spot for them. Just anecdotally I think they are more common than we realize, but like coyotes, they prefer to avoid people whenever they can and hide out in the deep bush. I hope more people get to have encounters as thrilling as this one was!

  2. For those who have not already read it I highly recommend getting a hold of a copy of ‘The Winter of the Fisher’ by Cameron Langford. What an enjoyable read. Certainly a favourite of mine. It is unfortunate that it is the only book that Mr. Langford was able to write before his passing.

  3. Oh Gillian, absolutely magical! What a two minutes you’ll treasure for a very long time indeed.

    We were very lucky to have our Fisher encounter within our first year in Canada, before we knew what they were! Spotted one up a tree in Gatineau Park, and our first thought was bear cub, though we quickly realized that wasn’t right. We weren’t sure what it was we’d seen until we saw the example in the visitor centre.
    Last year we saw lots of tracks in the snow (we’re in Val-des-monts now), but no sightings. I live in hope! I only hope I’m as cool with my camera when the time comes (fingers-crossed!) as you were. These are fabulous!
    (Also, echoing Dave’s comments above. I don’t common often, but your blog really is invaluable, and the effort you put into the detail in your posts very much appreciated).

  4. What a fantastic encounter. I’ve seen many fisher over the years but never when I have a camera. Very envious of this encounter!!

  5. What an amazing encounter. I can’t believe it lingered with you for as long as it did. I drive to work along Moodie Drive and I am fairly certain that I once saw a fisher dart across the road one day on my way home. It had that same distinctive body shape and was moving way too fast for a porcupine. I was thrilled at the time.

    • There is a fisher in Greely attacking pet cats. We lost our cat of 12 years just this week as did a neighbour of ours. There have been sightings of a fisher & another cat attacked today by it. This is a vicious animal that is relentlessly now hunting family pets. Please keep your cats and small dogs close. Someone needs to please trap this fisher and get rid of it.

      • I am so sorry for your loss. We had to put two of our kitties to sleep in 2020 and it was devastating. They lived to 18.5 and 19 years of age, and were never allowed outside unattended (we have a fenced yard and I would let them come out with me while gardening or reading so I could keep an eye out for them and the chipmunks, squirrels and birds visiting the feeder).

        I absolutely agree with you that people should keep their pets close. The sad truth is that outdoor cats do not live as long as indoor cats. Fishers are not even the most dangerous predator they can encounter – coyotes, vehicles, and humans are more of a threat to roaming cats. While there are fishers in the area, there is also a healthy coyote population in eastern Ontario and they are more likely to be stalking small animals such as rabbits, mice and even cats near houses where these animals find food. Removing the food source – food for the animals as well as the cats themselves – would be the easiest way to prevent any more deaths.

  6. Pingback: June Atlassing Highlights | The Pathless Wood

  7. Pingback: 2021 Year in Review: Mammals | The Pathless Wood

  8. Amazing pictures. I’ve seen a fisher crossing the road near Richmond Ontario, and one along the Perth wild life road driving into the Perth Wild Life Reserve conservation area, as well as a few throughout while driving backroads of Renfrew county looking for mammals. But always just crossing the road and never with enough time for a picture. I did not know they were the holy grail of mammals for Eastern Ontario–I must be lucky. In my experience I’ve had less luck finding pine martens, even when looking for them in Algonquin Park in winter.

    • I guess the “holy grail” depends on where you live and how lucky you are. I’ve seen the Algonquin Park pine martens several times but have never seen a moose there.

      The fisher is definitely attainable. Maybe the lynx or bobcat would be the more-difficult-to-attain holy grail? I’ve never seen any cats in Ontario but they are very uncommon where I live!

Leave a comment