A Garden in Bloom

My flowers have been slow to bloom so far, but when I returned from my trip to southern Ontario I was delighted to find that most of the Columbine I had started from seed last year was in bloom. I was thrilled with the colours that had blossomed: purple with a little bit of yellow in the center, white with purple stripes, red and yellow, pale pink, and even white. The flowers on two of my plants haven’t opened yet; I can’t wait to see what colours they will become!

These are the flowers that had bloomed in my front garden:

This one is my personal favourite:

And this is my second second favourite colour:

This is a snapshot of my garden in the backyard. I bought some petunias from the Richmond Nursery to brighten it up until the other flowers started to blossom:

The Back Garden

The pure purple flowers are growing to the left of the birdbath.

The white ones are the tall ones in back:

Bumble bee on columbine

So far I haven’t seen any hummingbirds or butterflies enjoying the nectar from these flowers; hopefully they will arrive soon!

Leave a Reply

